De Gea Wins 2022/23 Golden Glove Award

Man Utd goalkeeper cannot be caught with 16 clean sheets to claim the award for the second time.

De Gea Wins 2022/23 Golden Glove Award

De Gea Wins 2022/23 Golden Glove Award. Manchester United goalkeeper David De Gea has won the 2022/23 Castrol Golden Glove outright.

De Gea was guaranteed sole ownership of this season’s award for the most clean sheets when his rival, Alisson, fell out of contention by conceding for Liverpool at home to Aston Villa.

That means the Brazilian had 14 clean sheets with one match to play, while De Gea had 16. But the Spaniard added to his tally in Man Utd’s 1-0 win at AFC Bournemouth.

It is the second time the Man Utd goalkeeper has claimed the award, winning in 2017/18 with 18 clean sheets.

De Gea Wins 2022/23 Golden Glove Award

That is a total De Gea can still beat this season, with two more matches remaining for Man Utd, at home to Chelsea on Thursday and Fulham next Sunday.

See: Haaland Claims 2022/23 Golden Boot

Most Clean Sheets in PL Season

SeasonPlayerClubClean sheets
2004/05Petr CechCHE24
2008/09Edwin van der SarMUN21
2005/06Pepe ReinaLIV20
  2021/22Alisson, EdersonLIV, MCI20, 20
2006/07Pepe ReinaLIV19
2007/08Pepe ReinaLIV18
2010/11Joe HartMCI18
2012/13Joe HartMCI18
2017/18David De GeaMUN18

See: Premier League Golden Glove Award Winners

Source: Premier League Website

Oghwie Ufuoma
This post is authored by Oghwie Ufuoma (Harrison) A.K.A Harry, the founder and Admin of With nearly a decade of expertise in the sports sector, Harry started with Sportspaedia, providing up-to-date information on sports and tech-related topics, breaking news, and daily opportunities for Football/Soccer fans and online users.


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here